Marty Friedman gave Megadeth a shot in the arm when he joined the band back in 1990 for their Rust In Peace album. He left the band amidst turmoil and trouble in 2000. Now, after their live show at the world-famous Budokan in Tokyo, Japan, Friedman joined his ex-Megadeth bandmates on stage for the first time since January 14th, 2000.

Near the end of their 16-song setlist, Friedman jammed out with Dave Mustaine and crew for “Countdown to Extinction”, “Tornado of Souls”, and “Symphony of Destruction”. It was the first time Megadeth played “Countdown to Extinction” since 2013. Friedman performed on five albums during one of the most popular and genre-defining times for Megadeth.

Check out fan-filmed footage from the performance below!

Megadeth’s Setlist For Their Live At Budokan Show

01. Hangar 18
02. Dread And The Fugitive Mind
03. The Threat Is Real
04. Angry Again
05. Soldier On!
06. Sweating Bullets
07. Trust
08. Conquer Or Die!
09. Dystopia
10. À Tout Le Monde
11. Countdown To Extinction (with Marty Friedman)
12. Tornado Of Souls (with Marty Friedman)
13. Symphony Of Destruction (with Marty Friedman)
14. We’ll Be Back
15. Peace Sells


16. Holy Wars… The Punishment Due

You can check out the pro-shot stream of Live At Budokan on their website!

For more on Metal, make sure to check back to That Hashtag Show.

Keep Reading: