HBO’s Game of Thrones prequel House of the Dragon announced seven additional cast members.

Based on George R.R. Martin’s novella Fire & Blood, the series follows the rise and fall of the Targaryen family. Recently added cast members include Ryan Corr, Jefferson Hall, David Horovitch, Graham McTavish, Matthew Needham, Bill Paterson, and Gavin Spokes.

They join Paddy Considine’s King Viserys, Olivia Cooke’s Alicent Hightower, Emma D’Arcy’s Princess Rhaenyra, and Matt Smith’s Prince Daemon in the fantasy series.

New House of the Dragon Cast Members

Each new addition’s role is outlined below. Details come from the HBO website for the series.

Ryan Corr as Ser Harwin ‘Breakbones’ Strong. Said to be the strongest man in the Seven Kingdoms, Ser Harwin is the eldest son to Master of Laws Lyonel Strong and heir to Harrenhal.

Jefferson Hall as Lord Jason Lannister and Lord Tyland Lannister, twin Lords of Casterly Rock. Thailand is a crafty and calculating politician.

David Horovitch as Grand Maester Mellos. A voice of reason and trusted advisor to King Viserys.

Graham McTavish as Ser Harrold Westerling. A paragon of chivalry and honor. Ser Harrold has served in the Kingsguard since the days of King Jaehaerys.

Matthew Needham as Larys Strong. The younger son of Master of Laws Lyonel Strong, brought to court by his father.

Bill Paterson as Lord Lyman Beesbury, the Lord of Honeyholt and Master of Coin on King Viserys’s small council.

Gavin Spokes as Lord Lyonel Strong. Master of Laws to King Viserys and Lord of Harrenhal.

House of the Dragon explores the history of house Targaryen 300 years before Game of Thrones. Fans expect the show to dive into the Targaryen civil war (aka the Dance of the Dragons). However, HBO is keeping the plot details for this one largely under wraps.

House of the Dragon is currently in production, with plans to premiere in 2022.

Source: HBO