As we all know Star Wars there is more to the Star Wars story then just the movies. If it wasn’t for the books and comics there would be a lot of the story left untold. Since we had a chance a couple days ago to look at the Star Wars books’ timeline, it is now time to take a look at what comic series are in the canon timeline as well.

Star Wars Comic 1

The Canon Star Wars Comic Book Timeline

Just like in the last article, Star Wars: The Canon Book Timeline, I will try to make this easy to follow. I will list the comic series as they take place throughout the movie timeline (all movies will be in bold). Also yes just like I said in the last article, I know there are more then just the canon books out there, but today I am just focusing on the canon material.


All comic series up to Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

  • Age of Republic ( 2019)
  • Darth Maul ( 2017)
  • Movie – The Phantom Menace
  • Obi-Wan & Anakin (2015-2016)
  • Movie – Attack of the Clones
  • Jedi of the Republic – Mace Windu ( 2017)
  • Movie – The Clone Wars
  • TV Series – The Clone Wars
  • Star Wars Adventures: The Clone Wars (June 2020)
  • Darth Maul: Son of Dathomir (2014-2017)
  • Kanan (12 issue series, 2015 – 2016)
  • Movie – Revenge of the Sith

All comic series up to Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

  • Darth Vader (2017 – 2018)
  • JEDI: Fallen Order – Dark Temple (2019)
  • Age of Rebellion series (2019)
  • Movie – SOLO: A Star Wars Story
  • SOLO (2018-2019)
  • Han Solo – Imperial Cadet (2018-2019)
  • Lando: Double or Nothing (2018)
  • Thrawn (2018)
  • TV Series – Star Wars Rebels
  • Vader – Dark Visions (2019)
  • Movie – Rogue One: Star Wars Story
  • Rogue One (2017)
Thrawn Comic

All comic series up to Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

  • Movie – A New Hope
  • Princess Leia (2015)
  • Chewbacca (2015)
  • Han Solo (2016)
  • Star Wars (2015-2019)
  • Darth Vader 2015 (2015-2016)
  • Vader Down (2015-2016)
  • Doctor Aphra (2016-2019)
  • The Screaming Citadel (2017)
  • Target Vader (2019)
  • Lando (2015)
  • Movie – The Empire Strikes Back
  • Star Wars (2020 – Present)
  • Darth Vader(2020 – Present)
  • Doctor Aphra (May 2020)
  • Bounty Hunters ( March 2020 – Present)
  • Tie Fighter (2019)
  • Movie – Return of the Jedi
bounty hunters comic

All Comic Series up to Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

  • Journy to Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Shattered Empire (2015)
  • TV Series – The Mandalorian
  • The Rise of Kylo Ren (2019-2020)
  • Age of Resistance series (2019)
  • Poe Dameron (2016-2018)
  • TV Series – Resistance
  • Star Wars Adventures: Destroyer Down (2019)
  • Movie – The Force Awakens
  • The Force Awakens (2016)
  • Star Wars: Adventures (2017-2020)
  • Movie – The Last Jedi
  • The Last Jedi (2018)
  • Journey to Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Allegiance (2019)
  • Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge (2019)
  • The Rise of Skywalker (June 2020)
  • Movie – The Rise of Skywalker
Rise of Kylo Ren comic cover

We want to hear from you

Well there it is the canon Star Wars comic series list. Between the comics and the books there is definitely a lot to read. Also please remember that the comics that have not been released yet the dates can change at any time, So, make sure to keep an eye out for any changes through your local comic shop. I will also try to keep this list updated as well.

So, what are some of your favorite comic series from this list? Also How many of these series have you read? Well, That Hashtag Show wants to hear from you.

You can tell us your thoughts by hitting us up on Twitter or myself @starwarsnerd574. You can also join me at the Midwest Star Wars Fanatics fan page to chat all things about the galaxy far, far away. Also, make sure to stay up to date on all the Star Wars news by following us at ThatHashtagShow.com and the Star Wars Fanatics on Facebook. I can’t wait to see you all this year at Celebration.