New Japan Pro Wrestling announced the Blocks for their biggest tournament they run annually: The G1 Climax.

G1 Climax 29 Block Announcements with crowd reaction

During NJPW’s Dominion, three competitor’s announced their intentions of entering the tournament. All three of those men, got their wish. KENTA, Jon Moxley, and Shingo Takagi will all compete in their first G1 Climax. Joining those three in their first G1 tournament will be Jeff Cobb, Taichi, and the winner of the Best of the Super Juniors Tournament: Will Ospreay. Ospreay looks to become the first ever wrestler to win both the G1 and the BOSJ in the same year.

All twenty G1 Climax 29 tournament entries
Image Credit: Japanese Puroresu Ichiban

Block A:

  • Kazuchika Okada (IWGP Heavyweight Champion)
  • Zack Sabre Jr. (British Heavyweight Champion)
  • Kota Ibushi
  • EVIL
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Lance Archer
  • Will Ospreay (IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi (Last year’s G1 Climax winner)

Block B:

  • Tomohiro Ishii (IWGP Never Openweight Champion)
  • Juice Robinson
  • Toru Yano
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Jay White
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Taichi
  • Tetsuya Naito (IWGP Intercontinental Champion)
  • Jon Moxley (IWGP United States Champion)

The G1 Climax always delivers, and there’s a reason it’s NJPW’s biggest tournament of the year. Both blocks are packed with dream matches. Okada/KENTA, Moxley/Naito, and Cobb/Takagi just to name a few. Pretty much any match in Block B involving Jon Moxley is a dream match.

Hiroshi Tanahashi enters his 18th consecutive G1, trying to win his fourth overall. He won the tournament last year by defeating Kota Ibushi in a match of the year candidate. Tanahashi then went on to become IWGP Heavyweight Champion at WrestleKingdom 13 by defeating Kenny Omega.

During tomorrow morning’s Kizuna Road show the main events for each G1 Climax 29 card will be revealed. The tournament starts on July 6th in Dallas, Texas. The finals will take place on August 12th at Budokan Hall.