Helloween’s Pumpkins United World Tour was one of those things in metal, that fans thought would never happen. It would surely be a miracle for the band to tour with Michael Kiske and Kai Hansen once again. Well that miracle happened, so we’re on to the next one. A new studio album titled Helloween opens a new chapter for the band after 35 years. The genesis of that live tour was “could we use three lead singers”. Now that is a reality with this album.

Drummer Dani Löble has this to say about the record and the band.

This record is the coronation of the Pumpkins United journey! Still, until  today I am fascinated by the different character traits and facets of the Helloween history. Per example the legendary voices of Michi, Andi and Kai. To enjoy them now together on one record, under one flag is the ultimate Helloween experience

Dani Löble

The “Skyfall” Single Tease

They’re not just announcing the album and done with it, however. The lead single for the record, “Skyfall”, is garnering comparisons to classic Helloween tracks of old. Coming in at 12 minutes, it’s got quite the shoes to fill in that category.

The band chose to further celebrate the legacy of the band by using original drummer, the late Ingo Schwichtenberg‘s drum kit in the studio. The recording was done at the Hamburg HOME studios where classic albums Master of the Rings, The Time of the Oath, and Better Than Raw were recorded. Production team, Charlie Bauerfeind and co-Producer Dennis Ward got the final mix. Bauerfeind had this to say about the album.

After 30 years with the different line ups of the band I really thought I was well prepared for another extreme challenge, but I was wrong! My expectations were highly exceeded in every way with this super-sized creativity package

Charlie Bauerfeind

What The Rest Of The Band Has To Say

Michael Weikath has been with Helloween since the beginning. He’s seen everything in the band. Here’s what he had to say about the process.

It is the incomprehensible encounter of seven musicians who are working as friends and even family and created something that no one would have thought it could be possible. It is like awaking from a sleep but still being in an incredible dream.

Michael Weikath

Kai Hansen is a fan favorite and one of the originators of the power metal genre. He returned to the band after a long hiatus for the Pumpkins United Tour. Here’s what he had to say.

Being in the studio with my old companions after 30 years was very emotional for me. But at the same time it was a completely different experience with the ‘new’ boys. The collaboration of different songwriters and strong characters made the album very special: a unique mix with reminiscences from all chapters of the band’s history. Helloween is a big part of my life and I am looking forward to celebrating the songs live for and with our fans.

Kai Hansen

Finally Markus Grosskopf, bassist, has had to deal with the turmoil of the band previously. He’s been with them forever, and is always a pillar in the band. Here’s what he had to say.

For me, being one of the last ‘survivors‘ who played every note from the beginning, it was a fantastic experience and a very emotional process. I think everyone can hear it on this album. I love it.

Markus Grosskopf

The Tracklisting For Helloween

01 – Out For The Glory
02 – Fear Of The Fallen      
03 – Best Time              
04 – Mass Pollution                  
05 – Angels                                   
06 – Rise Without Chains          
07 – Indestructible                      
08 – Robot King                         
09 – Cyanide                                  
10 – Down In The Dumps         
11 – Orbit                                        
12 – Skyfall

Pre-order the version of “Skyfall” that you want, right here! Each version comes with exclusive tracks like “Indestructible” on the second variant or a new vocal mix on an extended version of the single on the first variant.

Helloween goes up for pre-order on March 26th and releases June 18th.

For more on metal, stay tuned to That Hashtag Show.