The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its inductees for the 2023 class, including Rage Against The Machine, Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliot, George Michael, Willie Nelson, and The Spinners. A notable snub from that class even though they were in the top 5 of the fan vote? Iron Maiden.

In addition to Maiden, Soundgarden and The White Stripes both didn’t make it this year. Don’t be too sad for Iron Maiden though. They don’t really care about the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Here’s what Bruce Dickinson has said in the past about the Rock Hall:

“I actually think the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is an utter and complete load of bollocks, to be honest with you. It’s run by a bunch of sanctimonious bloody Americans who wouldn’t know rock n’ roll if it hit them in the face. They need to stop taking Prozac and start drinking fucking beer.”

The Rock Hall has been slow and methodical about getting actual metal artists in the Rock Hall for years. Bands like Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, and Judas Priest have all taken multiple years to get in. Judas Priest got in last year, but on the “Musical Influence” award, which feels like a participation trophy.

Here’s the full list of Inductees for 2023:

Performer Category:

  • Kate Bush
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Missy Elliott
  • George Michael
  • Willie Nelson
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • The Spinners

Musical Influence Award:

  • DJ Kool Herc
  • Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award:

  • Chaka Khan
  • Al Kooper
  • Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award:

  • Don Cornelius

Love Metal? Check Out The Metal Hall Of Fame Instead

The Metal Hall Of Fame is a yearly ceremony that gives Metal artists like Twisted Sister, Judas Priest, Scorpions, Lemmy Kilmister, Don Dokken, Quiet Riot, and plenty more a place to be enshrined and respected. They have a yearly ceremony that is televised. At this year’s ceremony, Twisted Sister reunited for a couple of songs for the first time since their retirement.

For more on Metal, make sure to check back to That Hashtag Show.

Keep Reading: