Get rid of those silly number twos after those titles, the sequels to Black Panther and Captain Marvel are now: Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and The Marvels. This was a highlight among other things with Marvel‘s newest video celebrating their movies and Phase 4. Check out the updated release dates for all the upcoming Marvel films below:

  • Black Widow – July 9, 2021
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings – September 3, 2021
  • Eternals – November 5, 2021
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home – December 17, 2021
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness – March 25, 2022
  • Thor: Love and Thunder – May 6, 2022
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – July 8, 2022
  • The Marvels – November 11, 2022
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp Quantumania – February 17, 2023
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 – May 5, 2023
  • Fantastic Four – TBA

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever will not recast the late Chadwick Boseman as the title character. It’ll instead explore the rich world and mythos of Wakanda through the lens of the other characters. Ryan Coogler returns to direct and write the sequel alongside Letitia Wright, Lupita Nyong’o, Winston Duke, and Angela Bassett. You can catch it in theaters July 8th, 2022.

The Marvels has Brie Larson coming back as Captain Marvel. Also starring are Teyonah Parris (Monica Rambeau), Zawe Ashton, and Iman Vellani (Ms. Marvel). Nia DaCosta directs the film. It comes out November 11th, 2022.

This release schedule is particularly tight because of the COVID-19 pandemic. That forced changes across the board, but now we should be in for a super-charged slate of Marvel films.

So, what do you think of the new names for these films?

For more on Marvel, make sure to check back to That Hashtag Show.